Westchester County Reckless Driving Lawyer
NEW YORK VEHICLE & TRAFFIC LAW (VTL) 1212 & NEW YORK PENAL LAW 125
Reckless driving is one of the most serious traffic charges you can face. You can choose to represent yourself in a New York traffic court, or you can rely on an experienced Westchester County reckless driving lawyer with Kimberly Pelesz New York Law, LLC. If you’re convicted of reckless driving, a judge can suspend your driver’s license or even confiscate your vehicle, and that could seriously impair your ability to earn a living or get an education. Under New York Vehicle and Traffic Law 1212, even a first-time conviction for reckless steering is punishable by up to thirty days in jail, a fine of up to $300, and five points against your driver’s license. Your insurance rates will climb, and the conviction goes on your criminal record. Don’t admit guilt or pay any fine for reckless driving before consulting first with Kimberly Pelesz New York Law, LLC.
RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET IN NEW YORK
You can receive a ticket for reckless driving, driving on the wrong way, and even changing lanes without signaling. Improper or dangerous passing, excessive speeding, tailgating or weaving in and out of traffic may all be considered reckless driving by law enforcement officers. All of these offenses can result in a ticket. Remember, that a police officer can slap you with a reckless driving summons, if he has reason to believe that you interfered with the proper use of a public road or endangered users of the road. Many drivers believe that reckless driving is just a traffic ticket that disappears when you pay a fine, but that is not the case. Reckless steering is a much more serious traffic offense than simply driving through a stop sign and steering slightly over the speed limit. Make no mistake – reckless driving offenses are serious offenses, and come with significant penalties.
Remember, these charges could leave you with a sentence of up to 30 days in jail, as well as a $500 fine. You may be charged with a criminal misdemeanor offense.
Besides the jail time and fines, you may also face other penalties. A conviction for reckless steering will put five points on your driver’s license, and for many drivers, that will mean a license suspension and substantially higher insurance premiums. If you get eleven or more points added to your record within a period of 18 months, your license will be temporarily suspended, leaving you without the ability to get around and drive to work or school.
If it is a first-time offense, you could get a prison sentence of up to 30 days. However, your jail time increases if you are arrested for a second offense or a third offense. If your reckless steering incident has involved an accident, or an offense like driving under the influence of alcohol, you will find that your chances of being sentenced to jail increase.
A Westchester County reckless steering attorney will be able to help negotiate a plea-bargain that will help you avoid getting a conviction on your record, and lower the number of points. If you have received a reckless steering summons, speak to a Westchester County reckless driving lawyer and get sound advice.
CONSULT WITH US FIRST – AND PROMPTLY
While you should absolutely try to avoid a conviction for reckless driving, if you do end up convicted, be glad it wasn’t worse. If someone is killed by a reckless driver, that driver can face one of these very serious charges:
- Vehicular Manslaughter in the Second Degree: Penal Law 125.12 (Class D Felony)
- Vehicular Manslaughter in the First Degree: Penal Law 125.13 (Class C Felony)
- Aggravated Vehicular Homicide: Penal Law 125.14 (Class B Felony)
First-degree vehicular manslaughter occurs when you cause the death of someone else while breaking a traffic law or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. You will be charged with first degree vehicular manslaughter if your license was suspended or revoked at the time of the crime. Vehicular manslaughter in the second degree occurs when you unintentionally cause the death of a person while breaking a traffic law or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Even if there were no deaths involved with your reckless driving charge, you will still need an experienced Westchester County reckless driving attorney. The reckless driving law is very general, meaning police officers and prosecutors can interpret it in any way that they please in order to get charges brought against you.
An experienced reckless driving lawyer may be able to fight to have your charges reduced, if not dismissed, depending on the circumstances of your case. Your attorney may be able to show that you did not have any ill or malicious intent when you were driving, and were simply using poor judgment at the time.
If your license is suspended, an attorney may be able to obtain a conditional driver’s license for you. A conditional license will allow you to drive under certain conditions, such as traveling to and from work or school, so that you are still able to earn an income or get an education until your license is reinstated. Although a conditional license is never a guarantee, you will have a better chance at getting one with the help of a Westchester County reckless driving attorney.
If you or a loved one is facing a reckless driving charge, don’t hesitate to contact an experienced Westchester reckless driving attorney as soon as possible.
LEARN HOW WE CAN HELP
You are innocent unless and until a prosecutor can prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. If you are accused of reckless driving or something even more serious in New York, you’ll need an aggressive Westchester County reckless driving lawyer to advocate on your behalf. With offices in Peekskill and Poughkeepsie, Kimberly Pelesz New York Law, LLC serves clients in Beacon, Fishkill, Wappingers Falls, Newburgh, Tarrytown, Greenburgh, Westchester County, Dutchess County, Putnam County, Orange County, and Rockland County. To learn more about how a Westchester County reckless driving attorney can help you, email us or call us promptly at (914) 402-4541.